Bayern Munich win ninth successive Bundesliga title: Records broken

Last updated on May 09, 2021, 02:13 pm
Bayern Munich win ninth successive Bundesliga title: Records broken

Bayern Munich raced to a ninth successive Bundesliga title after second-placed RB Leipzig lost 2-3 against Borussia Dortmund. Post confirmation, the Bavarians then demolished Gladbach 6-0 as Robert Lewandowski smashed a hat-trick. With two games to go in the Bundesliga 2020-21 season, Bayern have opened up a 10-point lead. Here we decode the major records scripted as Bayern tasted success once again.


Three-star Lewandowski helps Bayern demolish Gladbach

Lewandowski opened the scoring in the second minute and hit his second in the 34th to give Bayern a dream start. In between Thomas Muller scored as well in the 23rd minute before Kingsley Coman got in the scoresheet, giving them a 4-0 lead at half-time. Lewandowski's third came from a penalty before former Manchester City star Leroy Sane added a sixth.


Lewandowski races to 275 career Bundesliga goals

After netting 55 goals in 2019-20 for the Bavarians, Lewandowski continued his run as he raced to 46 this season in all competitions. The Pole now has 39 league goals this season after having played just 27 matches. He has surpassed the 200-goal mark for Bayern in the Bundesliga (201). He has also raced to 275 Bundesliga goals (74 for Dortmund).

Bayern records

Notable records for Bayern Munich

Bayern have scored at least once in their last 69 matches in all competitions. The last time they failed to score in a Bundesliga match was in a goalless draw against Leipzig on February 9, 2020. Bayern have won their 30th Bundesliga crown. Bayern sealed a ninth consecutive Bundesliga championship, equaling the record in Europe's 5 big leagues held by Juventus.

Do you know?

Lewandowski achieves these feats as well

Lewandowski has 292 goals for Bayern across competitions. For the second time in his career, he has surpassed 45-plus goals in a season. He also netted his fifth hat-trick (or better) in the ongoing campaign. The senior striker also netted his quickest Bundesliga career goal.


New record set by Muller and Alaba

Bayern stars Thomas Muller and David Alaba won their 10th Bundesliga title setting a new record in the competition. Bayern legend Muller netted his 129th Bundesliga goal. He is now the joint-25th highest scorer alongside Karl Allgower. Muller netted his 15th goal this season and now has 214 career goals for Bayern. He has now provided 18 league assists this season (highest).

Do you know?

10th successive league trophy for Coman

Bayern's Kingsley Coman has now won a league title in every season of his professional club career. The 23-year-old won two trophies each with PSG (Ligue 1) and Juventus (Serie A). He has now won six Bundesliga honors with Bayern.

Share this timeline
Premier League, Liverpool beat Southampton 2-0: List of records broken

Latest News

Latest Sports News


Related News

Trending Topics