Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Which are the seismically active zones in India?

Asked on 20-04-2018 by Armaan Pandit

Answered by NewsBytes

According to the Nation Center of Seismology(NCS) approximately 29 Indian towns and cities, including Delhi, fall under the 'severe' and 'very severe' seismic zones. Zone II is considered to be the least seismically active while Zone V is the most seismically active zone. Very severe zones include Bhuj, Chandigarh, Ambala, Amritsar, Ludhiana, and Roorkee.

How are earthquakes measured?

Asked on 20-04-2018 by Manoj Panchal

Answered by NewsBytes

A seismometer is used to measure the power of an earthquake. A seismometer detects and measures the vibrations that are caused by an earthquake and records them on a seismograph.