Want to share with your friends too?

09 Mar 2018

Bengaluru suburban train services to have 8 more routes

To add to the existing 18 suburban railway services plying in Bengaluru, 8 more train routes were announced yesterday by South Western Railway (SWR) officials.

The trains will be running for short distances, like from Baiyappanahalli to Whitefield, Baiyappanahalli to Krantiveera Sangolli Rayanna (KSR) Station, and Hosur to Banaswadi through Heelahalige.

SWR made the announcement in presence of Union Railway Minister Piyush Goyal.

In context

Eight new routes in Bengaluru's suburban rail network


Railways proposes 50:50 cost sharing arrangement to Karnataka

The Railways is conducting a physical survey to produce a feasibility report for the project.

"We expect a total of 6 months for (the report) to be ready," said AK Gupta, General Manager, SWR.

Goyal said Railways has proposed a 50:50 cost-sharing ratio to the state government if they provide Floor Area Ratio of 5 for railway stations.

Karnataka is yet to respond.

'Entire South Western Railway will be electrified in 5 years'

Goyal also inaugurated a 10-tonne capacity mechanized laundry to be installed at the KSR station, and said that in 5 years, the entire SWR will be electrified. The laundry would cater to all passenger carrying trains starting from KSR to Yesvantpur stations.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline