Tata Harrier: Design, features, specifications and launch


05 Dec 2018

Tata Harrier SUV to launch in January: Specifications, design, features

Tata Motors has finally revealed the key specifications and features of its highly anticipated Tata Harrier.

The sub-compact SUV, scheduled to launch in January 2019, has been co-developed by Tata and Jaguar Land Rover.

The Tata Harrier will be available in four variants and will be powered by a 2.0-liter turbo diesel engine.

Here's everything we know.


Tata Harrier: At a glance

Tata Harrier: At a glance

The Harrier is based on the Tata-JLR co-developed Optimal Modular Efficient Global Advanced Architecture (OMEGARC) modular platform that has been designed to offer optimum rear seat legroom and ground clearance (205mm).

It features projector lens headlamps with follow-me-home function, LED DRLs, fog lamps, LED taillights and wing mirrors with integrated turn indicators.

Further, it comes with a 50-liter fuel tank capacity and 17-inch alloy wheels with radial tires.


Inside the cabin

The SUV features a black-and-brown color theme with faux wood inserts, premium fabric, leather upholstery, and chrome accents.

The Tata Harrier will also sport a push-button start/stop function, a multi-function steering wheel, auto climate control, and height-adjustable driver's seat.

Further, the car will offer an 8.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support and 9-speakers JBL audio system (for top variants).

Love Business news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

Engine & power

Under the hood

Under the hood

The Tata Harrier is powered by a Fiat-sourced four-cylinder 2.0-liter Kryotec diesel engine which is tuned to churn out 138 bhp at 3,750 rpm and 350 Nm of peak torque between 1,750-2,500 rpm.

Compatible with Bharat Stage 6 (BS6), the engine comes mated to a 6-speed manual gearbox.

Further, the car will offer three driving modes and a three-mode Terrain Response System.

Safety and handling

On the road

In terms of safety features, the Tata Harrier will come equipped with three-point seatbelts with pre-tensioners and seatbelt reminder for the front seats.

Further, the SUV will offer six airbags (two as standard), and ISOFIX points for child seats.

For better road handling, the Harrier comes with ABS with EBD, ESP with corner stability control, Hill Descent Control, and Brake Assist among others features.

Tata Harrier will be available in 4 trims

The Tata Harrier will be available in five colors and four variants starting with the base end XE, mid-range XM and XT models and top-end XZ trim. Features like Projector headlamps, dual front airbags, rear parking sensors and LED DRLs will be offered as standard.

Share this timeline

Android Auto

Apple CarPlay

Tata Harrier

Tata Motors


Bharat Stage 6

Brake Assist





Hill Descent Control


Jaguar Land Rover





Optimal Modular Efficient Global Advanced Architecture

Tata Harrier SUV

Terrain Response System





Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline