Want to share with your friends too?

02 Nov 2017

Wall at Rajiv Chowk to commemorate Indian Nobel-prize winners

The Delhi Metro on Wednesday installed the Nobel Memorial Wall at Rajiv Chowk metro station for the seventh consecutive year.

Put up in association with the Embassy of Sweden, the wall aims to motivate commuters by showcasing the work and contribution of Indian Nobel laureates.

Installed as part of the Sweden India Nobel Memorial Week, it will be on display till November 7.

In context

A special wall to commemorate Indian Nobel laureates

Five Indian citizens have received the Nobel Prize as yet

Only five Indian citizens have been the recipients of the Nobel Prize as yet. Rabindranath Tagore for literature in 1913, CV Raman for physics in 1930, Mother Teresa for peace in 1979, Amartya Sen for economics in 1998, and Kailash Satyarthi for peace in 2014.


Portraits of Indian Nobel winners put on display

The temporary wall has portraits of the Indians who have won the Nobel, including Rabindranath Tagore, CV Raman, Har Gobind Khorana, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Kailash Satyarthi.

Notably, not all of them were Indian citizens when they won the prize.

The paintings on display were selected through a competition organized among the colleges within NCR by the Swedish embassy.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline