In last 4-years, 83-people committed suicide in Delhi-metro


19 Nov 2018

Delhi: Since 2014, 83 people committed suicide at Metro stations

An RTI filed by Indian Express with Delhi Police's Metro Unit revealed a total of 83 people committed suicide across 58 stations of the Delhi Metro since 2014.

On the Blue Line, which stretches from Dwarka Sector 21 to Noida City Centre and covers 50.56 kms, the maximum number of deaths were reported.

32 people committed suicide on the Blue Line.

Here's more.

The data

Here's looking at stations where suicides happened

Here's looking at stations where suicides happened

The RTI also revealed that on Blue Line's stations Subhash Nagar and Janakpuri West four persons each committed suicide since 2014.

Three people each took their lives at Chattarpur, Tilak Nagar and Kashmere Gate stations in the same time period.

In last four years, Yellow Line, Red Line, Violet Line, and Green Line saw 24, 17, 7 and 3 suicides respectively.

The numbers: Till October this year, 16 committed suicide

The RTI revealed in 2014, 9 suicides happened across stations of Delhi Metro. In 2015, the number shot up to 24, and the next year, i.e. 2016, it dropped to 15. 19 suicides happened in 2017 and till October this year, 16 took their lives.

Love Delhi news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me

CISF's work

Personnel are trained to identify people in distress: CISF spokesperson

Notably, CISF is tasked with maintaining security across metro stations. Officials claimed the personnel are trained to identify people with distress.

A CISF spokesperson said ground level staffers are tipped off by CCTV cameras when they capture a person in agony.

"The CISF officers are trained in analyzing gait and facial expressions as a part of their security training," he added.

There are PSDs to prevent untoward incidents

To prevent any untoward incident, Delhi Metro introduced platform screen doors (PSD). This makes crowd management better and prevents commuters from gaining access to train tracks. Each metro station on Airport express has a PSD.

Share this timeline

Delhi Metro


's Metro Unit

Blue Line



Delhi Police

Dwarka Sector 21

Green Line

Indian Express

Janakpuri West

Kashmere Gate

Metro Unit

Noida City Centre


Red Line


Subhash Nagar

Tilak Nagar

Till October

Violet Line

Yellow Line

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline