Dangal 'strikes gold': Sweeps away three major Filmfare awards

15 Jan 2017 | By Ramya Patelkhana

Though it came as a year-end surprise of 2016, 'Dangal' wrestled out others to win three of the four major Filmfare awards.

It won the most prestigious 'Best Film' award while Aamir Khan won 'Best Actor' for his role of Mahavir Singh Phogat and Nitesh Tiwari bagged 'Best Director' award.

Alia Bhatt won the 'Best Actor (Female)' award for her performance in 'Udta Punjab'.

In context: The 62nd edition of Filmfare Awards

AboutThe Filmfare Awards

The Filmfare Awards are presented annually by the Times Group to honor the artistic and technical excellence of the Indian film industry professionals.

They were introduced in 1954 and initially called the 'Clare Awards' after the Times of India's Editor Clare Mendonca.

The awards are often referred to as the Indian equivalent of The Oscars; Filmfare ceremony is one of India's oldest film events.

62nd Filmfare Awards

The 62nd edition of the Filmfare Awards ceremony was held on 14 Jan 2017 in Mumbai to honor the best films of 2016. The star-studded event was co-hosted by Shah Rukh Khan, Karan Johar, and Kapil Sharma.
Love Entertainment news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

15 Jan 2017Dangal 'strikes gold': Sweeps away three major Filmfare awards

AwardsNeerja bags two Critics' awards

Shahid Kapoor and Manoj Bajpai shared 'Critics' Award for Best Actor (Male)' for their performances in 'Udta Punjab' and 'Aligarh' respectively; Sonam Kapoor won the award in the female category for 'Neerja'.

Director Ram Madhvani won 'Critics' Award for Best Film' for 'Neerja'.

Rishi Kapoor won 'Best Actor in Supporting Role' for 'Kapoor & Sons' and Shabana Azmi for 'Neerja' in the female category.

Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award

The prestigious Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award has been conferred on veteran actor Shatrughan Sinha. His daughter Sonakshi presented him the award. He said, "Many people feel if you get the Lifetime Achievement Award it's the end, but I feel it's just the beginning."

MusicFour music awards for 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil'

Arijit Singh won the 'Best Playback (Male)' for the title song of 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil' while Amitabh Bhattacharya won the award for 'Best Lyrics' for 'Channa Mereya'.

Pritam bagged the 'Best Music Director' and the 'Best Music Album' awards for 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil'.

Neha Bhasin received the award for 'Best Playback Singer' for 'Jag Ghoomeya' from 'Sultan' in the female category.

Love Entertainment news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Awards Tally'Neerja' and 'Kapoor & Sons' bag maximum awards this year

'Neerja', directed by Ram Madhvani and starring Sonam Kapoor won five Filmfares.

'Kapoor & Sons', directed by Shakun Batra, featuring Sidharth Malhotra and Alia, also won five awards.

'Dangal', starring Aamir Khan and directed by Nitesh Tiwari, won four awards.

'Udta Punjab', directed by Abhishek Chaubey, featuring Shahid Kapoor and Alia Bhatt and Karan Johar's 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil' also won four awards each.