Want to share with your friends too?

05 Mar 2018

Delhi Metro's Pink Line to start running from this week

After successful trail, the 20.6-km long patch of Delhi Metro's Pink Line between Majlis Park and Durgabhai Deshmukh South Campus is all set to begin operations later this week.

With a total length of 58.596 km, Pink Line will be the longest Delhi Metro route, and the first to connect all the six other DMRC lines, reported Hindustan Times.

Read on for more.

In context

Pink Line a major breakthrough in Delhi Metro
Why is it important?


Why is it important?

The Pink Line will considerably cut the commute time, especially between North and West Delhi areas.

Passengers will no longer have to go to Kashmere Gate/Rajiv Chowk as this stretch of the route alone has four interchange stations: Azadpur, Netaji Subhash Place, Rajouri Garden and a still-under-construction South Campus.

Pink Line has 10 interchange stations in total, which will greatly unburden the other routes.

Quick take

All about the Pink Line 

Running between Majlis Park-Shiv Vihar, at 58.59km it's the longest Delhi Metro route yet.

Of its 38 stations - 26 elevated (39.47km) and 12 underground (19.117km) - 10 are interchange, connecting all the other six lines.

It has been delayed by 15+ months. The project was supposed get completed by December 2016.

Called line 7, it will take more than an hour to cover.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

A first

Azadpur to have two metro stations

The Pink Line has another Azadpur station (there's one already on the Yellow Line). The new route's first interchange station, it has several special features:

*Long ramps, token vending machines at entries/exits for the physically disabled.

*It's a paid-to-paid connectivity: Commuters won't have to exit the system to interchange.

*Connected by a 193-meter-long foot-over bridge, the two stations will have a combined station control-room.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Most asked questions

List of all stations on pink line metro

More questions

List of all stations on pink line metro

Asked 2018-03-06 10:33:39 by Vijay Puri

Answered by NewsBytes

Pink line is a part of Delhi Metro Phase-III network. It consists of 38 metro stations from Majlis Park to Shiv Vihar. On completion, the Pink Line with a length of 58.59km will be the longest line in Delhi Metro. Metro service on the 21.56-km Majlis Park-South Campus corridor would be formally flagged off on March 14, 2018. Click here for all stations list

Next Timeline