National Film Awards: Baahubali, Bhansali, Bachchan, Kangana win big

28 Mar 2016 | By Vaneet Randhawa

The 63rd National Film Awards were announced and 'Baahubali' directed by S S Rajamouli's won for Best Film.

The National Award for the Best Director went to filmmaker Sanjay Leela Bhansali ('Bajirao Mastani').

Actor Amitabh Bachchan bagged the Best Actor award ('Piku') and Kangana Ranaut won her 2nd consecutive Best Actress award for 'Tanu Weds Manu Returns'.

Best Children's Movie award went to 'Duronto'.

In context: National Film Awards

India's push for excellence in cinema: National Awards for films

The National Awards for films, began as an annual incentive by the Government of India to push for the production of "artistic, competent and meaningful films".

1953India's 1st National Film Awards

The 1st National Film Awards (instituted as State Awards for Films) were presented in the year 1953.

The awards were given by then President Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

'Shyamchi Aai' a Marathi film became the first Indian film to receive President's Gold Medal for the All India Best Feature Film, while President's Gold Medal for the Best Documentary Film went to 'Mahabalipuram'.

Love India news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Selection and Jury

Award ProcessSelection and Jury

The National awards include the entire national spectrum of Indian cinema, and the films are judged by the highest possible yardstick.

The awards are given in two primary categories: Feature Films and Non-Feature Films.

The juries are designated by the Directorate of Film Festivals in India.

Neither the government nor the Directorate has authority to decide which films are selected for the award.

1969Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Awarding outstanding contribution to Indian cinema

First presented in 1969, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award which is the part of National film awards is India's highest award in cinema.

It commemorates Dadasaheb Phalke's contribution to Indian cinema.

The winner is honoured for their "outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema"

The winner is presented with a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, and a prize money of Rs.1,000,000.

Manoj Kumar to get Dadasaheb Phalke award

Manoj Kumar will be presented with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2016 at the 63rd National Film Awards ceremony on 3 May 2016.

28 Mar 2016National Film Awards: Baahubali, Bhansali, Bachchan, Kangana win big