Delhi Metro: Kalkaji-Janakpuri corridor opens to public


29 May 2018

Beat Delhi road-traffic; Kalkaji-Janakpuri West Magenta Metro-line opens to public

Commuters in Delhi can now beat the heavy road traffic on Ring Roads by taking the Delhi Metro's Magenta Line metro as the Kalkaji Mandir-Janakpuri West stretch was thrown open to the public today.

The corridor has 16 stations, 14 underground, two elevated, including one that helps travelers moving in and out of the domestic terminal of the Terminal-1 IGI Airport station.

Here's more.


Services began from 6 am

The corridor of the Magenta Line, which is part of Phase-III of the DMRC, was yesterday inaugurated by Union Minister for Housing and Urban Affairs (Independent Charge) Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal at Nehru Enclave metro station.

"Services began from 6 am from Kalkaji Mandir and Janakpuri West stations simultaneously," a senior DMRC official said.


Travelling from Noida to Gurugram can save 30 minutes

Commuters traveling from Noida to Gurugram can also bypass heavy Ring Road traffic in south Delhi and save time by at least 30 minutes.

"After the inauguration of this vital link, the approximate time to commute between HUDA City Centre and Botanical Garden stations will be about 50 minutes which usually taken an hour and a half," the official said.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me

Phase III

72km of network under Phase-III yet to be opened

According to the DMRC, 72 km of the network under the Phase-III are yet to be opened, excluding the Noida-Greater Noida section. DMRC is assisting the Noida Metro Rail Corporation (NMRC) in the work on that line.

"Including the Noida-Greater Noida section, the span of the metro in the Delhi-NCR would touch nearly 380 km by December," the official said.

Longest stretch

Longest stretch in DMRC Phase-III

With the opening of the new metro corridor, the total operational span of the DMRC network has reached to 277 km with 202 metro stations.

This section is also the longest stretch to have been opened so far in the DMRC's Phase-III project.

The total number of interchange stations has now risen to 19, including Sikanderpur, with Rapid Metro.


Trains will run with frequency of 5 minutes 15 seconds

The corridor will operate with 24 trains which will gradually increase to 26.

The frequency will be 5 minutes and 15 seconds during peak hours and shorter intermediate loops with higher frequency will be introduced after studying the traffic pattern, they said.

Hauz Khas (with Yellow Line) and Janakpuri West (with Blue Line) stations are the interchange facilities on this corridor.

Share this timeline

Arvind Kejriwal

Beat Delhi

Blue Line

Botanical Garden


Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal

Delhi Metro


Hardeep Singh Puri

Hauz Khas

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline