CMs visit AIIMS to inquire about Vajpayee's health


17 Jun 2018

4 CMs visit AIIMS to inquire about ex-PM Vajpayee's health

Chief Ministers of West Bengal, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, and Jharkhand - Mamata Banerjee, Nitish Kumar, Raman Singh and Raghubar Das, yesterday visited the AIIMS, New Delhi where former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, 93, is undergoing treatment.

The CMs are in Delhi to attend a meeting of the NITI Aayog today which will be presided over by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.


Vajpayee's condition is stable and showing improvement: AIIMS

"Vajpayee's condition is stable. He continues to show improvement and is being monitored by the team of doctors. He is admitted in Intensive Care Unit of Cardio-Thoracic Center at the hospital," AIIMS said.

Vajpayee was admitted to hospital on June 11 with a kidney tract infection, chest congestion, and low urine output.

He was immediately evaluated by doctors and put on injectable antibiotics.

Medical history

Vajpayee suffered a stroke in 2009

Vajpayee, a diabetic, has one functional kidney. He had suffered a stroke in 2009 that had weakened his cognitive abilities. Subsequently, he had developed dementia.

Vajpayee was thrice elected the Prime Minister between 1996 and 1999. He is the only non-Congress PM to have completed the full term of 5 years, from 1999-2004.

As his health deteriorated, he slowly withdrew himself from public life.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

Who have visited the former PM so far?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat, former Prime Ministers Manmohan Singh and HD Deve Gowda, Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, and Congress president Rahul Gandhi have visited the AIIMS since the BJP stalwart was admitted there.

Share this timeline

All India Institute Of Medical Sciences (AIIMS)

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Mamata Banerjee

Narendra Modi

NITI Aayog

Nitish Kumar

Raghubar Das

Rahul Gandhi

Raman Singh


Amit Shah

Cardio-Thoracic Center

Chief Ministers


Congress PM

Deve Gowda

HD Deve Gowda

Intensive Care Unit

Manmohan Singh

Mohan Bhagwat

New Delhi

PM Vajpayee

Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Prime Ministers Manmohan Singh

Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje


Vasundhara Raje

West Bengal

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline