Want to share with your friends too?

10 Aug 2018

Railways to launch digital museums at 22 stations on I-Day

The Railways Ministry has decided to launch digital museums at 22 stations on Independence Day to showcase railways' history after the PMO objected to the public transporter spending on developing separate railway museums.

In a communication issued by Railway Board Director (Heritage) Subrata Nath on August 8 to Divisional Railway Managers, minutes of the meeting chaired by PM Modi on March 26 were cited.

In context

Digital museums to be launched in 22 stations

Here are the 22 chosen stations in India

The stations that have been chosen for the pilot project are Howrah, Sealdah, Lucknow, Varanasi, Raebareli, Sultanpur, Prayag, Ambala, New Delhi, Delhi, Hazrat Nizamuddin, Agra Cantonment, Gorakhpur, Guwahati, Katihar, New Jalpaiguri, Jaipur, Erode, Coimbatore, Secunderabad, Vijayawada, and Bengaluru.

Dry run of scheme to be undertaken on Aug 11-12


Dry run of scheme to be undertaken on Aug 11-12

The communication said that the Ministry has decided to launch the pilot scheme at 22 railway stations where true color digital multi-media screens are already available.

These digital screens will be 5.1m long and have a width ranging from 2.1m to 3.2m, the communication said, adding that a dry run of the scheme would be undertaken on August 11-12.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Decision to convert Mumbai's CSMT not known yet

The communication, however, has not stated anything to convert Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus building in Mumbai into a museum. A senior official said CSMT already housed a museum which, as and when permission is received, would be converted into a bigger museum without investing much.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline