Seat-sharing deal of Cong-alliance in Telangana finalized: Khuntia


08 Nov 2018

Seat-sharing deal of Congress-led alliance in Telangana finalized: AICC

Seat-sharing deal among partners of the Congress-led grand alliance for the December 7 Telangana Assembly elections has been finalized and will be announced after its approval by Congress President Rahul Gandhi, the AICC said today.

This ends weeks of negotiations that the Congress had with its electoral partners, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and the Communist Party of India (CPI).

Distribution of number of seats still a mystery though

The AICC in-charge (Telangana affairs), RC Khuntia however didn't say how many seats Congress would get in the 119-member Assembly but sources indicated that it wouldn't be less than 90. Before the official announcement, a TDP leader claimed his party may get around 14-18 seats.


TJS worried over delay in finalizing seat-sharing formula

Meanwhile, founder-President of TJS, Prof M Kodandaram said the Congress has offered his party eight to ten seats, whereas he is seeking a minimum of 12 but hoped that the issue would be settled.

"Some adjustment has to happen but we're more worried about the delay (in finalizing the seat-sharing formula). It's the major issue," he said.

The CPI has been offered three seats.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Cadres feel CPI should get two more Assembly seats

"We are going to discuss the offer tomorrow at our state executive meeting and decide about it," CPI General Secretary Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy said.

In addition, the party has been offered two MLC seats.

He termed the offer "comparatively good in the present circumstances", but said the feeling among the party cadre is that it should have got two more Assembly seats.

Share this timeline

Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Indian National Congress

Rahul Gandhi

Telangana Assembly Election

Telugu Desam Party (TDP)


Communist Party

Communist Party of India

Congress President Rahul Gandhi


CPI General Secretary Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy

December 7 Telangana Assembly


Prof M Kodandaram

RC Khuntia

Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy



Telangana Assembly

Telangana Jana Samithi

Telugu Desam Party


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline