11 coaches of Seemanchal Express derail in Bihar


03 Feb 2019

Bihar: Seven dead as 11 coaches of Seemanchal Express derail

In an unfortunate incident, seven people died on Sunday after 11 coaches of the Delhi-bound Seemanchal Express (12487) derailed in Bihar.

The accident took place at 3:58am in Sahadai Buzurg.

The derailed coaches include one general coach, one AC coach B3, three sleeper coaches (S8, S9, S10) and others.

Rescue operations are underway, and the death toll is expected to climb.

Here's more.

Railway Minister Piyush Goyal has announced compensation for those affected

In the aftermath of the accident, Railway Minister Piyush Goyal announced ex-gratia of Rs. 5 lakh for the kin of the deceased, Rs. 1 lakh for those grievously injured, and Rs. 50,000 for those who suffered simple injuries.

These are the helpline numbers

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


A relief train will help affected passengers

A relief train will help affected passengers

Soon after the accident, a relief train was dispatched to evacuate stranded passengers, and help with relief and rescue efforts.

As per latest reports, the train, which has all necessary arrangements like food, blankets, etc., has reached Danapur station, where additional coaches will be added to transport stranded passengers to Delhi.

Meanwhile, all passenger trains on the route have been cancelled.

Other details

The derailment might have happened due to a rail fracture

As it stands, two National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) teams are carrying out rescue efforts, aided by two teams of doctors and an accident medical van.

Meanwhile, an inquiry has been ordered into the accident and will be conducted by the Commissioner of Railway Safety (CRS) Eastern Circle Latif Khan.

It's believed that the derailment took place owing to a rail fracture.

READ: The Railway Ministry's tweet about the accident

Share this timeline

Train Accident

12487 Jogbani-Anand Vihar Terminal Seemanchal Express




Bihar Chief

Bihar CM

Delhi-bound Seemanchal Express

East Central Railway

Nitish Kumar

Rajesh Kumar




Sahadai Buzurg

Seemanchal Express

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline