Authorities might increase new Mumbai-Delhi Rajdhani frequency


10 Mar 2019

Overwhelmed with response, CR thinking of increasing Mumbai-Delhi Rajdhani frequency

Good response from passengers to the first Rajdhani train on Mumbai-Delhi route through the Central Zone has prompted authorities to think of increasing the frequency of this new bi-weekly train.

The occupancy in the train, which started in January, is nearly 100%, said Central Railway's principal chief commercial manager Shailendra Kumar.

"From day one, we are seeing an overwhelming response," he added.


'Thinking of requesting Railway Board to possibly run it daily'

"So, we are thinking of requesting the Railway Board to possibly run it daily," Kumar said, adding the train is perfect to go to Agra from Mumbai and to come to Nashik from Delhi.

"A big number of passengers are booking tickets for these two destinations," he noted.

Currently, the other two Rajdhani trains from Mumbai run on the Western Railway route.

New train takes detour via Madhya Pradesh instead of Gujarat

One Rajdhani starts from Mumbai Central while the other from Bandra Terminus. This new train is the first Rajdhani in Maharashtra, which takes a detour via Madhya Pradesh, instead of Gujarat. Kumar said earnings from ticket sales of the new Rajdhani were beyond expectations.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Want more passengers to travel in this premium train: Kumar

Kumar said they want more and more passengers to travel in this premium train.

The train leaves Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT) in Mumbai on every Wednesday and Saturday at 2.50pm and reaches Hazrat Nizamuddin in Delhi at 10.20am next day.

On its return journey, the train leaves Hazrat Nizamuddin every Thursday and Sunday at 4.15pm and arrives at CSMT at 11.55am next day.

Trains halts at Kalyan, Nashik, Jalgaon, Bhopal, Jhansi and Agra

Besides CSMT and Hazrat Nizamuddin, it halts at Kalyan, Nashik, Jalgaon, all in Maharashtra, Khandwa, Bhopal, in Madhya Pradesh, Jhansi and Agra, in Uttar Pradesh. "Halting the train at Kalyan station (in Thane district) has proved beneficial for travelers," Kumar said.

Share this timeline

Central Railways


Hazrat Niazmuddin

Mumbai-Delhi Rajdhani Express

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline