Elections 2019: MP Congress leader Ratan Singh dies


23 May 2019

Congress' Ratan Singh dies of heart attack at counting center

While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) rejoices amid yet another huge majority for them in the Lok Sabha elections, tragic news emerges from Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh), where Sehore district chief of the Indian National Congress, Ratan Singh, died of a heart attack.

According to reports, Singh was at a vote counting center when he passed away.

Here are more details about the incident.


Singh felt chest pains and collapsed at counting center

Singh felt chest pains and collapsed at counting center

Reportedly, the Congress leader was at the counting center when he suffered chest pains and collapsed around 10am. Singh was taken to a local hospital, where he died.

Singh's death comes as Congress faces a defeat in the Lok Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh, where the party managed to lead on only one of 29 seats, despite having won the recently-held state assembly elections.

Madhya Pradesh

Meanwhile, BJP is leading massively in Madhya Pradesh

Despite losing to Congress in the state assembly elections after 15 years of being in power, the BJP has made a comeback in Madhya Pradesh in the Lok Sabha elections.

Even, BJP's contentious candidate from Bhopal, Sadhvi Pragya Thakur, who was accused in 2008 Malegaon blasts, is maintaining a strong lead of more than 1 lakh votes. Thakur is contesting against Congress' Digvijaya Singh.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


BJP leading in 301 out of 542 Lok Sabha seats

BJP leading in 301 out of 542 Lok Sabha seats

Across India, latest trends available suggest a landslide victory for ruling BJP, predicting its return to form the government.

BJP is currently leading in 301 out of 542 Lok Sabha seats, crossing the 272-seat majority mark. Congress is leading in 50, DMK in 22, YSRC in 25, Shiv Sena in 18, JDU in 16, BJD in 14 and BSP in 13.

Share this timeline

Bharatiya Janata Party




Elections 2019

Elections Result

Elections Results

Indian National Congress

Lok Sabha

Lok Sabha 2019

Lok Sabha 2019 Dates

Madhya Pradesh

Ratan Singh

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline