Soon women will join men in combat: Army Chief

04 Jun 2017 | Written by Vaneet Randhawa; Edited by Vijaya

Army Chief Gen Bipin Rawat in his historic announcement said that the Indian Army was planning to open combat positions for women.

So far, this arena was only accessible to men.

Rawat said that to begin with women will be appointed for roles in military police.

The Army Chief said the subject was being discussed by the government.

In context: Indian armed forces transforming for women in combat

26 Jan 2015An all-women contingent at Republic Day parade

Captain Divya Ajith Kumar of the Corps of Army Air Defence led a contingent of 154 women officers and cadets during the Republic Day parade, where US President Barack Obama was present as the chief guest.

While women officers have been participating in previous Republic Day parades, this was the first time that an all-women's contingent of the armed forces marched down Rajpath.

20 Apr 2016Women get appointed to Permanent Commission in Navy

Indian Navy joined the other 2 armed wings announcing permanent commission for women, starting with 7 short Service Commission officers.

So far, women were appointed as Short Service Commission officers.

This will open up the future of women in combat roles in the Navy.

The Navy currently permits women in "legal, logistics, naval architecture and engineering departments".

Love India news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

18 Jun 2016India commissions its first 3 female Air Force pilots

3 Indian women fighter pilots made history by being commissioned in the Indian Air Force.

Bhawana Kanth, Avani Chaturvedi and Mohana Singh have almost 150 hours of flying and have cleared the first stage of training.

The young flying officers will train for 6 months on the Advanced Jet Fighter - the British-built Hawk before being assigned fighters and their squadrons.

04 Jun 2017Soon women will join men in combat: Army Chief

Countries that allow women in combat roles

The number of countries which allow women in combat roles include Germany, Australia, Canada, the US, Britain, Denmark, Finland, France , Norway, Sweden and Israel.