Secretary-level reshuffles: Rajiv Gauba named Home Secretary

22 Jun 2017 | By Anupama Vijayakumar
Bureaucratic re-shuffles: Exchanges, new appointments and more!

16 secretaries were designated to various departments under centre's latest bureaucratic re-shuffle.

Former Urban Development Secretary Rajiv Gauba, a 1982-cadre IAS officer from Jharkhand was chosen as Home Secretary. Gauba will be replaced by Durga Shankar Mishra.

Subhash Garg, Executive Director, World Bank, has been appointed Economic Affairs Secretary and Aruna Sundararajan appointed Telecom Secretary.

Let's see who else has been appointed!

In context: Bureaucratic re-shuffles: Exchanges, new appointments and more!

22 Jun 2017Secretary-level reshuffles: Rajiv Gauba named Home Secretary

Gauba's credentials

Gauba had earlier served as Additional Secretary in the Home Ministry in charge of the Left Wing Extremism Division and as Chief Secretary with the Jharkhand government. Gauba is expected to take over from Rajiv Mehrishi as Officer on Special Duty soon.
Love India news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Who else has been moved?

DetailsWho else has been moved?

Ajay Mittal, a 1982-batch officer has been moved from Information & Broadcasting Department to Department of Personnel and Training to replace B P Sharma, who is retiring soon.

Mittal will be replaced by Culture Secretary N K Sinha.

While Ajay Kumar Bhalla , director general, foreign trade was appointed power secretary, Arun Kumar Panda was appointed to the ministry of small and medium enterprises.

AboutMore appointments!

Rajeev Kapoor, New and Renewable Energy secretary has been moved to the Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals.

Yudhvir Singh Malik, Chairman, National Highways Authority of India was appointed to the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. Malik's place would be taken by Deepak Kumar, a Bihar-cadre IAS officer.

Jagdish Prasad Meena, and Avinash Srivastava, secretaries of Food Processing and consumer affairs will exchange places.

Re-shuffles in the Ministry of Defence

Ravi Kant, formerly Additional Secretary with the Defence Ministry has been moved to shipping to replace Rajiv Kumar, who is likely to be appointed Chief Secretary with the UP government. Sanjeevanee Kutty, Border Management Secretary will replace Prabhudayal Meena, as Secretary, Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare.