Republic Day 2018: India to host ASEAN leaders


08 Jul 2017

R-Day 2018: India to invite 10 ASEAN leaders as chief-guests

On 69th Republic Day, India would invite 10 leaders from ASEAN-nations as chief-guests.

ASEAN has members like Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.

It will be the first time that so many leaders would together be chief-guests in a parade which displays India's military strength.

Hosting the heads of 10 ASEAN nations is an exposition of India's 'Act East' policy.

'Act East' Policy: What is it?

India's Act East policy formerly known as the 'Look East' policy is an effort to cultivate extensive economic and strategic relations with the nations of Southeast Asia including Japan in order to counter the influence of China, and boost regional power.


India, ASEAN nations to mark 25 years of dialogue partnership

India, ASEAN nations to mark 25 years of dialogue partnership

India and ASEAN nations will mark 25 years of dialogue partnership, 15 years of summit-level interaction, and five years of strategic partnership this year.

This historic event will be marked through a wide range of activities, both in India and through Indian missions in ASEAN member-states.

A commemorative summit on the theme, 'Shared Values, Common Destiny' will also be held.

Love India news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

Close look

India, ASEAN member-states' ties

India and ASEAN nations have strengthened their ties through a strategic partnership in 2012. Both India and ASEAN nations, including Vietnam have further agreed to step up defence and security ties.

They are also actively engaged on forging a regional comprehensive economic partnership, which will account for about 40% of world trade, thus emerging as the largest regional trading arrangement.

Share this timeline



Republic Day

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline