Want to share with your friends too?

13 Aug 2017

Jharkhand retires 12 'dubious' judicial officers

Jharkhand retires 12 judges for dubious conduct

The Indian judiciary is facing an acute shortage of judges; in January, an SC report said that district courts across the country were short of about 5,000 judicial officers.

On top of that, the existing ones don't seem to be conducting their duties responsibly.

Taking a strict view in the matter, the Jharkhand government has retired 12 district judges for their "dubious conduct".

In context

Jharkhand retires 12 judges for dubious conduct

The order came on the recommendation of the Jharkhand HC

Nidhi Khare, secretary of personnel and administrative reforms, said: "The judicial officers were marked by the (Jharkhand) HC for their dubious conduct and, on the issue of probity, they were given compulsory retirement." All the 12 have been given three months' salary and other reimbursements.

Who are the 12 retired officers?

The judges

Who are the 12 retired officers?

The retired officers include district and additional sessions judges Anil Kumar Singh (Lohardaga), Om Prakash Srivastav (Pakur), Girijest Kumar Dubey (Garhwa), Girish Chandra Sinha (Daltonjanj), Umeshanand Mishra and Rajesh Kumar Pandey (Latehar).

Chief judicial magistrates Ram Jiyavan (Chaibasa) and Ramjit Yadav (Sahibganj) are named.

The others are Ashok Kumar Singh and Yashwant Kumar Sahi (Garhwa), Arun Kumar Gupta (Godda) and Rajnandan Rai (Hazaribagh).

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline