Want to share with your friends too?

28 Aug 2017

Bypolls: Manohar Parrikar wins Panaji, AAP clinches Bawana in Delhi

Bypolls: Parrikar wins Panaji, AAP victory in Delhi

Securing his position as Goa CM, Manohar Parrikar won the Panaji bypolls by 4,803 votes, defeating Congress' Girish Chodankar .

He will resign from Rajya Sabha next week. BJP MLA Siddharth Kuncalienkar had vacated Panaji for Parrikar.

In Delhi's Bawana, AAP's Ram Chandra scored a victory with 24,052 more votes than BJP.

In AP's Nandyal, TDP's Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy is leading by.

In context

Bypolls: Parrikar wins Panaji, AAP victory in Delhi

A BJP win in the second Goa seat too

In Valpoi, BJP's Vishwajit Rane won by a margin of 10,066 votes. Rane was earlier holding this seat as a Congress leader, but then defected to the BJP.

In Bawana, it was a three-way prestige battle


In Bawana, it was a three-way prestige battle

The Bawana bypoll was necessitated as AAP's Ved Parkash quit to re-join BJP.

Congress' Surender Kumar was leading earlier. However, after eight rounds of counting, AAP pushed it to second place.

A win would have boosted the fledgling Congress, which has suffered a string of electoral defeats.

A win for the BJP (Parkash) would have increased its presence in the Assembly.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Andhra Pradesh

In Nandyal, ruling TDP to taste another victory

Nandyal in Andhra fell vacant after the death of the sitting MLA. The ruling TDP looks set to gain the seat.

As CM Chandrababu Naidu (TDP) and Leader of Opposition YS Jaganmohan Reddy (YSR) led the charge for their parties, the Congress has been reduced to a mere spectator.

YSR's Silpa Mohan Reddy and Congress' Abdul Khader have been left behind by over 2,800 votes.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline