Double murder of Shiv Sena leaders triggers unrest


08 Apr 2018

NCP MLA among those arrested for Shiv Sena leaders' murder

Following the murder of two Shiv Sena leaders in Ahmednagar, Maharashtra, on Saturday evening, police have booked 31 people and arrested four including National Congress Party (NCP) MLA Sangram Jagtap.

Jagtap's arrest triggered infuriated NCP workers to storm and ransack the Ahmednagar police superintendent's office.

There is heavy police deployment in the city to check unrest, but Ahmednagar continues to be tense.

Here's more.


NCP MLA is not the prime suspect in the murder

NCP MLA is not the prime suspect in the murder

Shiv Sena leaders Sanjay Kotkar and Vasant Thube were killed on Saturday after being attacked with sharp weapons.

Jagtap was arrested along with Sandeep Gunjal, Balasaheb Kotkar and Bhanudas Kotkar. Police believe Gunjal to be the prime suspect.

The four were booked by the Ahmednagar police under various sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), including Section 302 for murder.

Political backdrop

The murder came after Congress won civic bypolls

The double murder, which came on the back of Congress leader Vishal Kotkar winning the civic bypolls for the Kedgaon ward of the Ahmednagar Municipal Corporation, sparked tension in the area. Shops and commercial establishments were quick to close their shutters.

The bypoll was necessitated after former mayor and Congress member Sandeep Kotkar was convicted in a 2008 murder case.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Shiv Sena stage protests and call bandhs following murders

Following the double murder, Shiv Sena supporters staged a protest at the murder site for hours, and police were blocked from removing the bodies of the leaders.

On Saturday evening, Shiv Sena members also held a 'rasta-roko' protest which stopped traffic movement on the Pune-Ahmednagar highway.

Kedgaon market areas remain closed today under a bandh called by the local Shiv Sena unit.

Share this timeline



Shiv Sena

Ahmednagar Municipal Corporation

Balasaheb Kotkar

Bhanudas Kotkar

Indian Penal Code


MLA Sangram Jagtap

National Congress Party

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline