Want to share with your friends too?

16 Apr 2018

Karnataka polls: BJP releases second list of 82 candidates

Who are named in BJP's second list?

Today, BJP released its second list of 82 candidates for the hotly-contested Karnataka Assembly polls.

Earlier, on April 9, BJP had released its first list of 72 candidates, which included BJP's CM candidate BS Yeddyurappa and Leader of the Opposition in the Council KS Eshwarappa among others.

Yesterday, BJP's Central Election Committee comprising PM Modi and party chief Amit Shah finalized the list.

In context

Who are named in BJP's second list?

When are the Karnataka polls scheduled?

Karnataka-polls are scheduled for May 12. Results will be declared on May 15. In this high-stake election, Congress wants to retain one of its last-remaining strongholds. For BJP, it's a gateway to the South as it wishes to inch closer to its "Congress-mukt Bharat" vision.

Who all feature in Karnataka's second list?


Who all feature in Karnataka's second list?

The second list features Somashekhara Reddy, tainted mining baron Janardhan Reddy's brother, who will be contesting from Bellary. CM Yeddyurappa's close lieutenant, Hartalu Halappa will contest from Sagar constituency and Kumar Bangarappa, former CM Bangarappa's son will contest from Sorab.

Krishnaiah Shetty, co-accused in an alleged land scam, has also been given a ticket.

Reportedly, about 31 lingayats and 17 SCs/STs have got tickets.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Here's the complete list

What about the Congress and JD(S)'s lists?

Meanwhile, Congress announced a list of 218 candidates for the assembly polls. CM Siddaramaiah will contest from Chamun-deshwari, while his son Yatheendra will contest from Varuna. Another party in the fray, JD(S) announced candidates for 126 constituencies. It is backed by the BSP and AIMIM.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline