Want to share with your friends too?

17 May 2018

WB Panchayat Polls: TMC wins 2,467 Gram Panchayat seats

TMC wins 2,467 gram panchayat seats till noon

The ruling Trinamool Congress in West Bengal won 2,467 Gram Panchayat seats till 12 noon while BJP and CPI (M) won 386 and 94 seats respectively, as per state Election Commission information.

The Congress won 33 seats while independent candidates emerged winners in 158 seats.

Panchayat elections were held for 621 Zilla Parishads, 6,123 Panchayat Samitis, and 31,802 Gram Panchayats on May 14.

In context

TMC wins 2,467 gram panchayat seats till noon
TMC also wins 14 Panchayat Samiti seats

Panchayat samiti elections

TMC also wins 14 Panchayat Samiti seats

TMC is also leading in 2,683 Gram Panchayat seats, BJP in 231 seats, Congress in 55, while each CPI (M) and independent candidates are leading in 163 Gram Panchayat seats.

TMC has also won 14 seats in Panchayat Samiti election and leading in 24 seats. However, other parties are yet to open their account.

Counting of votes began at 8 am amid tight security.

The uncontested seats

Of the 48,650 seats in 3,358 Gram Panchayats, 16,814 seats were uncontested and of the 9,217 seats in 341 Panchayat Samitis, 3,059 were uncontested. In the 20 Zilla Parishads, 203 of the 825 seats were uncontested.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline