PM Narendra Modi all set to rejig Cabinet tomorrow

04 Jul 2016 | Written by Ramya ; Edited by Gaurav

The much-speculated cabinet reshuffle is reportedly all set to take place tomorrow as Prime Minister Narendra Modi is ready to bring changes in his Council of Ministers.

The Rashtrapati Bhavan was also reportedly informed of the reshuffle as there would be an oath ceremony to induct new faces.

Currently, there are 66 Council ministers, including Prime Minister Modi, while the Constitution allows 82.

In context: The much-awaited Cabinet reshuffle

2016Cabinet reshuffle on the cards

Amit Shah was re-elected as the BJP President for a second consecutive term in Jan'16, following which it was revealed that a cabinet reshuffle was on cards among the government's other major decisions.

However, it was confirmed that the rejig was unlikely to happen before mid-May.

Shah confirmed the reshuffle would happen soon after the second budget session came to an end in May'16.

Cabinet ReshuffleModi reviews ministries' performances ahead of rejig

As the NDA government was inching closer to the halfway mark of its term, changes in the Cabinet and BJP were crucial.

PM Modi held lengthy discussions with his council to review how each ministry spent the allocated money in the last three budgets.

Modi suggested some policies to be implemented soon and also pointed out that some departments needed to perform better.

Love Politics news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

04 Jul 2016PM Narendra Modi all set to rejig Cabinet tomorrow

No changes in top four portfolios expected

SpeculationsNo changes in top four portfolios expected

It is speculated that no changes would be made in the top four portfolios of Home Affairs, Finance, Defence, and External Affairs.

Also speculated is the promotion of some council ministers like Power Minister Piyush Goel.

PM Modi's decision on less than 75-year age criteria for the Council decides the fate of Cabinet Ministers-Najma Heptulla and Kalraj Mishra, who crossed 75 years of age.

Cabinet expansion will take place tomorrow, confirms spokesperson

Frank Noronha, Principal Spokesperson of the Government of India and the Director General of Press Information Bureau, tweeted, "Cabinet expansion tomorrow at 11 am."

Lengthy DiscussionsModi's discussions with BJP President

The decision to rejig the cabinet was taken after lengthy discussions for over 45 days between Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah to finalize the changes before Modi leaves for Africa.

Modi held a four-hour-long meeting last week with Amit Shah, which was considered significant as they had even discussed changes to be made in the organizational structure of BJP.

Love Politics news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Amit Shah to pick his new team

In 2015, Amit Shah retained a second term as BJP President but didn't change the party's senior team of Vice-President, General Secretaries, and Secretaries as polls were due in five states. Modi has now decided that Shah is free to pick his team.

VacanciesTwo new faces from Uttar Pradesh expected

About a year ahead of the Uttar Pradesh elections, PM Modi's thrust to pick ministers from the politically critical state is expected.

According to media reports, at least two new faces from Uttar Pradesh may join the Council.

Other few vacancies, including Assam CM and former Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal's post and a vacancy for ally Shiv Sena, are also expected to be filled.

Previous reshuffles

After forming the government in May 2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had made changes to his council of ministers thrice. The previous cabinet reshuffles took place in November 2014, March 2015 and November 2015.

05 Jul 2016Cabinet reshuffle begins, 19 new faces in

Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar was elevated to a Cabinet Minister post, one of the first promotions in the most recent Cabinet reshuffle.

19 other ministers were sworn in, including renowned journalist MJ Akbar who was given a Minister of State post.

Nihal Chand, Ram Shankar Katheria, Sanwar Lal Jat, Manuskhbhai D Vasva and M K Kundariya resigned to make way for new entrants.