Praveen Kumar joins Samajwadi Party ahead of UP elections

13 Sep 2016 | By Akriti Asthana
Praveen Kumar's swing from cricket to politics

According to reports, cricketer Praveen Kumar met Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav and decided to join Samajwadi Party.

The decision comes ahead of the 2017 UP Assembly elections, raising speculation that he might contest from Meerut.

When asked about contesting for 2017 elections, he said, "I am a kid in this field. As of now I will try to learn politics".

In context: Praveen Kumar's swing from cricket to politics

ExamplesCricketers who tried their hand at politics

Mohammad Kaif is a Congress MP and had contested the 2014 Lok Sabha elections from Phulpur, Allahabad.

Sreesanth contested from his home state of Kerala on a BJP ticket earlier this year.

Navjot Singh Sidhu formally announced his new political front 'Awaaz-e-Punjab' in Chandigarh on Thursday.

Former cricketers like Kirti Azad, Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi, among others have also taken on political careers.

Praveen Kumar's cricketing career

Praveen Kumar plays for the UP cricket team in First-Class cricket, and has been a part of the Indian cricket team in 6 test matches and 68 ODIs. Currently playing for Gujarat Lions, he picked up 9 wickets in 16 IPL matches this season.
Love Politics news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

13 Sep 2016Praveen Kumar joins Samajwadi Party ahead of UP elections

Showering accolades on Akhilesh Yadav

PraisesShowering accolades on Akhilesh Yadav

Kumar said that he was pleased by the work of Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, and that he would do whatever is asked of him.

Heaping praises on Yadav, Kumar added that the CM has done a lot for sportsmen by providing required infrastructure; big stadiums are under construction at Lucknow and Saifai, and the overall development of Uttar Pradesh has been kept in mind.

Kumar's last representation of India at the international level

Kumar, a medium pacer, who made his debut for the national team in 2007, has not played a game for the Indian cricket team in more than 4 years, having last represented them in a T20 match against South Africa in March 2012.