BJP, JD(U) enter into seat-sharing agreement for 2019


26 Oct 2018

Shah: BJP, JD(U) to contest 2019 elections on equal seats

It has been confirmed that the BJP and Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) will contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections on an equal number of seats.

The confirmation came after a high-level meeting between BJP chief Amit Shah and JD(U) chief and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Thursday.

The exact distribution of seats will be revealed in a few days.

Here's more.


What we know about seat distribution according to reports

What we know about seat distribution according to reports

According to News18's sources, the BJP and the JD(U) will contest with 16 seats each from the available 40, leaving the remaining eight seats for the two other NDA allies in Bihar.

Among those eight seats, five are expected to go to Ram Vilas Paswan's LJP, while Upendra Kushwaha's RLSP would contest from the remaining three seats.

Shah assures that Kushwaha and Paswan will remain allies

"Upendra Kushwaha and Ram Vilas Paswan will remain with us. When a new ally has joined us, there will be a reduction in seat share for everyone," Shah told the press, commenting on the seat sharing agreement.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me

Other details

Analysts say Prashant Kishor is responsible for the agreement

The seat sharing agreement is largely being seen as a significant victory for the JD(U), considering that the BJP had won 22 seats out of the 29 it had contested from during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Meanwhile, analysts say that the credit for the agreement goes to famed election strategist Prashant Kishor, who joined the JD(U) last month.

Share this timeline

2019 Elections

Nitish Kumar

Amit Shah


Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar

Janata Dal

Lok Sabha



Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline