Want to share with your friends too?

08 Dec 2018

TDP to contest Lok Sabha, Assembly polls in Odisha

Odisha: TDP to contest Lok Sabha, Assembly polls

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) led by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu has decided to contest the Lok Sabha and the Odisha Assembly elections next year in the BJD-ruled state.

TDP's Odisha in-charge Rajesh Putra told reporters in Koraput that the TDP will field candidates in 52 Assembly constituencies and five Lok Sabha seats in Odisha.

Read more.

In context

Odisha: TDP to contest Lok Sabha, Assembly polls

TDP to focus on Telugu dominated southern region of Odisha

Putra said the TDP would like to focus in the southern region of the Naveen Patnaik-led state where Telugu is spoken by the people. The districts from where the TDP would field its candidates have been identified as Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Gajapati, Ganjam, and Nabarangpur.


TDP to contest from Koraput, Nabarangpur, Berhampur, Asika

Stating that the TDP has a stronghold in these districts, Putra said that the party leadership is of the opinion that the dense population of Telugu people in these areas might be beneficial to the party.

The TDP candidates are likely to contest from Berhampur, Koraput, Nabarangpur, and Asika constituencies, the party in-charge said, adding that another parliamentary constituency will be decided later.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me


Reason for contesting polls: 'People in Odisha want development'

Putra informed that the TDP supremo Chandrababu Naidu will announce the name of the candidates very soon.

A primary survey in this regard is underway in 52 Assembly constituencies of the state, he informed.

Talking about the manifesto, Putra said the people of Odisha want development in their state for which the TDP will contest in the upcoming Assembly polls.


Apart from TDP, TMC will also participate in Odisha polls

While the TDP has been preparing to field candidates in the southern region of the state, the All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) led by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has already announced that the party will participate in the Odisha elections.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), led by Shibu Soren, is already a force in Mayurbhanj district in the northern region, sources said.


TDP participation will have no impact on Odisha politics: BJP

While senior BJD leader and Minister S N Patro said participation of the TDP in the Odisha Assembly polls will have no impact, Congress chief whip Taraprasad Bahinipati said that TDP candidates will eat into the BJD votes and benefit Congress.

On the other hand, BJP leader Bhrugu Baxipatra said TDP participation will have no impact on the Odisha politics.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline