JD(U)-BJP-LJP reach seat sharing agreement for 2019


23 Dec 2018

#RoadTo2019: Bihar seat-sharing done, BJP-JD(U) to contest on 17 seats

In an apparent show of strength, BJP President Amit Shah, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, and Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan announced the seat sharing agreement for Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Sunday.

As per the deal, JD(U) and BJP will fight on 17 seats each and LJP will contest on 6 seats.

Paswan will be sent to Rajya Sabha from NDA.

Shah's statement

Shah is confident NDA will win more seats than 2014

Addressing the media, Shah said the conclusion was reached after discussing politics of Bihar and the ground reality.

Shah said all the three parties were happy with the seat-sharing. He was confident that NDA will win more seats than 2014 in the upcoming elections.

For a few days now, there were speculations that all is not well between BJP and LJP.

Paswan's power

BJP couldn't have lost Paswan

After Paswan's son, Chirag, praised Congress President Rahul Gandhi for his win in Assembly polls, it was widely speculated that LJP might join hands with the grand alliance in Bihar.

Losing Paswan at this stage would have cost BJP a lot and it can be concluded that this could have driven NDA to elevate him to Rajya Sabha.

Bihar sends 40 MPs to Parliament.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


NDA hopes to clinch maximum seats in Bihar

NDA hopes to clinch maximum seats in Bihar

Notably, Chirag had earlier sent a letter to Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley asking him to explain the benefits of demonetization.

So when his father Ram Vilas mentioned Jaitley in his press address today, it became evident that allies reached an amicable solution.

NDA won 31 seats in Bihar in 2014, and Nitish Kumar said the performance will be even better this time.

CM's words

Nitish Kumar says will work for NDA's win in 2019

Kumar, who has been advocating equal seats for BJP and JD(U) in Bihar, said, "We will sit together with the BJP leadership and discuss the issues. We will work towards ensuring NDA's win in 2019 elections."

Addressing press, Kumar thanked Shah and said history will be scripted in Bihar.

On the sensitive Ram Mandir issue, he said the court should solve the matter.

Share this timeline

Amit Shah

Arun Jaitley


Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar

BJP President Amit Shah


Congress President Rahul Gandhi

Lok Janshakti Party

Lok Sabha

Losing Paswan

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline