Tejashwi Yadav takes dig at 'opportunistic' Nitish Kumar


24 Dec 2018

No one's more opportunistic than 'chacha': Tejashwi on Bihar CM

RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, who is the face of anti-NDA front in Bihar, took a dig at Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, whom he calls chacha, saying no one is as opportunistic as him.

Yadav's remarks on Sunday came after JD(U) struck a deal with BJP on seat sharing for upcoming Lok Sabha election.

JD(U) and BJP will contest on 17 seats each, and LJP on six.


Chacha was abused but stayed with NDA: Yadav

Chacha was abused but stayed with NDA: Yadav

Yadav, who is a former minister of Bihar government, said, "Despite being abused, if my chacha can continue with the NDA, then is it fair to dub the opposition as opportunists."

He called the deal a knee-jerk reaction of the NDA after Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) quit NDA and joined hands with the grand alliance.

Upendra Kushwaha's exit rattled the NDA, Yadav claimed.

Tirades exchanged

Earlier, PM Modi said grand alliance was deal for power

Yadav's statement was also an apparent retort to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who had said the mahagathbandhan was about political survival and not ideological support.

"This alliance is for personal ambitions and not for people's aspirations," he said on Sunday.

Notably, Kushwaha also didn't let the opportunity of taking a dig at PM Modi pass and said the 56-inch chest shrunk to 36 inches.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

Seat sharing

After deal, Nitish Kumar says will work for NDA's victory

After deal, Nitish Kumar says will work for NDA's victory

The deal on Sunday showed that LJP and BJP have finally arrived at an amicable conclusion after Ram Vilas Paswan hinted he wasn't happy.

Earlier, his son Chirag had written to Finance Minister Arun Jaitley asking what was achieved through demonetization.

But the parties buried the hatchet and Kumar told media they would work together to ensure NDA's victory in 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Share this timeline


Nitish Kumar

Tejashwi Yadav

Arun Jaitley

Bihar CM

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley

Lok Sabha

Narendra Modi


PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Ram Vilas Paswan

Rashtriya Lok Samata Party


Upendra Kushwaha

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline