Citizenship (Amendment) Bill tabled in Lok Sabha


08 Jan 2019

#CitizenshipBill: Bill passed in Lok Sabha, despite protests from Opposition

On Tuesday, Home Minister Rajnath Singh tabled the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 in the Lok Sabha as protests against the bill rocked Assam.

After a four-hour-long debate, and despite staunch resistance from the Opposition, the Lok Sabha passed the bill following a clause by clause discussion of its provisions.

Here are the details.

What the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill is all about

For those unaware, the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 seeks to give Indian citizenship to Hindu, Buddhist, Sikh, Parsi, Jain, and Christian illegal immigrants from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan after six years of stay in India. Muslim illegal immigrants from these countries, however, are exempted from the provisions.


Congress had demanded that the bill be sent for re-evaluation

Congress had demanded that the bill be sent for re-evaluation

Explaining the Center's stand, Home Minister Rajnath Singh said that the bill would not be restricted to Assam, and would apply to all of India, including western states like Rajasthan, Punjab, and Delhi where there is an influx of migrants.

However, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge demanded that the bill be sent back to the select committee for re-evaluation. When denied, Congress members walked out.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


AITC had called bill 'diabolical', demanded it be made secular

The All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), too, voiced their objection to the bill, with MP Saugata Roy saying that the bill was an example of vote bank politics and divisive politics by the BJP.

He added that the bill was "diabolical" in nature, and demanded that the bill be made secular on humanitarian grounds.

Subsequently, AITC members staged a walk out.

Share this timeline

Citizenship (Amendment) Bill


Lok Sabha

Rajnath Singh

Trinamool Congress


All India Trinamool Congress


Home Minister Rajnath Singh

India Trinamool Congress

Mallikarjun Kharge

MP Saugata Roy

Saugata Roy

Sumitra Mahajan

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline