Rajya Sabha passes the reservation bill


09 Jan 2019

RS passes bill to give 10% reservation to economically-weaker sections

After hours of debate, the Rajya Sabha passed the reservation bill on Wednesday.

The 'Constitution (One Hundred and Twenth-Four Amendment) Bill, 2019' was tabled by Union minister Thawar Chand Gehlot.

On Monday, the Union Cabinet led by Narendra Modi announced its plan to introduce a 10% reservation quota in jobs and education for the general category.

This quota isn't bound by caste or religion.

What happened

The Lok Sabha had passed the bill yesterday

The Lok Sabha had passed the bill yesterday

On Tuesday, the bill was passed in Lok Sabha with 323 lawmakers voting in its favor. Only three MPs opposed the bill.

The NDA government rejoiced after the bill was passed and claimed it followed the Centre's idea of Sabka Haath, Sabka Vikas.

In a rally in Solapur, Maharashtra, PM Modi urged members of the Rajya Sabha to pass the bill.

After 10 hours of debate, the bill is passed

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

The bill

Understanding why the Constitution had to be amended

The Indian Constitution doesn't allow reservations on the basis of economic conditions.

Notably, the Supreme Court had put a cap of 50% on caste-based reservations and so the Centre had to go through Constitution route.

The new bill will largely benefit section of upper castes like- Brahmins, Rajputs (Thakurs), Jats, Marathas, Bhumihars, and several traders belonging to the Kapu and Kamma communities.


On timing, PM Modi says if not now, when?

On timing, PM Modi says if not now, when?

The timing of the bill got PM Modi's critics questioning his intentions.

Many claimed the legislation was proposed before the General elections as BJP wanted to lure its core voter base- upper castes and middle class.

But today PM Modi slammed the critics. He said, "You tell me - do any few months go by without elections? So when should I have done this?"

Share this timeline

Lok Sabha


Narendra Modi


One Hundred

PM Modi

Rajya Sabha


Sabka Haath

Sabka Vikas

Thawar Chand Gehlot

Twenth-Four Amendment

Union Cabinet

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline