Congress' CWC meeting in Gujarat starts: Live updates


12 Mar 2019

In PM Modi's state, Rahul, Sonia, Priyanka discuss general elections

On Tuesday, the three Gandhis- Sonia, Rahul, and Priyanka, went to Gujarat the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, to chalk out the strategy of upcoming general elections which will start from April 11.

The Gandhis were joined by former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. Before kicking off the important Congress Working Committee meeting, the leaders paid obeisance to Mahatma Gandhi at Sabarmati Ashram.

Historic meeting

Congress is holding CWC meeting in Gujarat after 58 years

Left bruised at the end of 2014 parliamentary elections, Congress is eyeing a resurrection this time.

Which is why the grand old party selected Gujarat to start the important meeting. The CWC meeting is being held in Gujarat after 58 years.

In all likeliness, Congress leaders will speak about "defending" Gandhian principles after the meeting ends. A mega rally is also scheduled for later.


Priyanka Gandhi Vadra to address rally later as well

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who took the plunge into active politics after a long wait and was given a top post in UP Congress, will address a rally, reports claimed.

This will be her first speech after taking over the important post. Notably, Priyanka and her counterpart for UP West, Jyotiraditya Scindia, canceled a much-awaited press conference on February 14 after Pulwama attack.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Hardik Patel will join Congress in Rahul's presence

Hardik Patel will join Congress in Rahul's presence

The CWC meeting will last an entire day. Reports claimed Congress will form its strategy for the crucial elections around farmer distress, unemployment, demonetization, Rafale deal and the alleged "propaganda" of PM Modi government.

Patidar leader Hardik Patel will also join Congress in presence of president Rahul Gandhi later today.

Notably, Gujarat Congress received jolts recently after three lawmakers ditched the party for BJP.

Share this timeline


Priyanka Gandhi

Rahul Gandhi

Sonia Gandhi


Congress Working Committee



Gandhis- Sonia

Gujarat Congress

Hardik Patel

Jyotiraditya Scindia

Mahatma Gandhi

Manmohan Singh

Narendra Modi

PM Modi

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra


Sabarmati Ashram


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline