Want to share with your friends too?

21 Mar 2019

BJP's first #2019LokSabhaPolls list: PM Modi to contest from Varanasi

BJP releases first list for Lok Sabha polls

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released its first list of 182 candidates for the upcoming 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Union Minister and BJP leader JP Nadda announced the list at a press conference according to which PM Narendra Modi will contest from Uttar Pradesh's Varanasi.

BJP President Amit Shah will be contesting from Gujarat's Gandhinagar, replacing veteran leader LK Advani.

Here's more.

In context

BJP releases first list for Lok Sabha polls
Rajnath Singh to contest from Lucknow, Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur


Rajnath Singh to contest from Lucknow, Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur

According to BJP's list, Home Affairs Minister Rajnath Singh will be fighting the Lok Sabha elections from Lucknow and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, from Nagpur.

JP Nadda also announced that MoS for External Affairs, VK Singh, will be contesting the polls from Ghaziabad, star candidate Hema Malini from Mathura, and Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao, Smriti Irani from Amethi taking on Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

Here's what JP Nadda announced in the press conference

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Press conference by JP Nadda at BJP's headquarters

Kerala, Rajasthan

Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore to contest from Jaipur

BJP leader Kummanam Rajasekharan will contest the Lok Sabha polls from Thiruvananthapuram and KJ Alphons from Ernakulam in Kerala, as per the list.

Meanwhile, in Rajasthan, the MoS for Information & Broadcasting and Youth Affairs and Sports Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore will seek election from the state capital, Jaipur, and Arjun Ram Meghwal will contest from Bikaner.

BJP leader Jugal Kishore Sharma will contest from Jammu

J&K, Maharashtra

BJP leader Jugal Kishore Sharma will contest from Jammu

In Jammu & Kashmir, BJP leader Jugal Kishore Sharma will contest from Jammu, Khalid Jehangir from Srinagar, Dr. Jitendra Singh from Udhampur, and Sofi Yousuf from Anantnag.

Meanwhile, among the Lok Sabha candidates from Maharashtra, Subhash Bhamre will seek election from Dhule, Hansraj Ahir from Chandrapur, Poonam Mahajan from Mumbai North Central, and Sujay Patil (who recently joined BJP from Congress) from Ahmednagar.

Other BJP candidates from Uttar Pradesh

Among the BJP's other candidates from Uttar Pradesh are Rajveer Singh from Etah, Santosh Kumar Gangwar from Bareilly, Satyapal Singh from Baghpat, Rajendra Agrawal from Meerut, Parmeshwar Lal Saini from Sambhal, and Raghav Lakhanpal from Saharanpur.


Kiren Rijiju to fight Lok Sabha polls from Arunachal West

Among BJP's Karnataka candidates are Anantkumar Hegde who will contest from North Kannada, Sadanand Gowda from Bangalore North, BY Raghavendra from Shimoga, and Prathap Sinha from Mysore.

Meanwhile, Minister of State for Home Affairs, Kiren Rijiju, will fight the Lok Sabha polls from Arunachal West.

BJP's candidates from Uttarakhand include Ramesh Pokhriyal from Haridwar, Tirath Singh Rawat from Garhwal, and Ajay Bhatt from Nainital.

West Bengal

BJP's list of candidates from West Bengal

From West Bengal, Babul Supriyo will contest from Asansol, Rahul Sinha from Kolkata North, and CK Bose from Kolkata South.

Other candidates include Anupam Hazra from Jadavpur, Chandra Kumar Bose form Kolkata South, Dilip Ghosh from Medinipur, Tapan Roy from Arambag, Sayantan Basu from Basirhat, Jayanta Ray from Jalpaiguri, Sukanta Majumdar from Balurghat, and Nisith Pramanik from Cooch Behar.

Here are the BJP's candidates from Odisha

According to the list, BJP candidates for Odisha are Baijayant Jay Panda from Kendrapara, Aparajita Sarangi from Bhubaneswar, Rudra Narayan Pany from Dhenkanal, Pratap Sarangi from Balasore, and Sangeeta Kumari Singh Deo from Balangir.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline