Maharashtra: Congress, NCP, smaller parties seal seat-sharing deal


23 Mar 2019

#Elections2019: Congress, NCP finalize Lok Sabha seat-sharing pact in Maharashtra

The Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and a few other smaller political parties have sealed their seat-sharing arrangement in Maharashtra for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections on Saturday.

Maharashtra Congress chief Ashok Chavan made the announcement, according to which, out of 48 seats, Congress will be contesting from 24 constituencies, NCP on 20 seats, and other parties from the remaining constituencies.

Here's more.


Congress, NCP to contest on 44 of 48 LS seats

Congress, NCP to contest on 44 of 48 LS seats

While the Congress and NCP together would be contesting from 44 out of 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, the remaining four seats in the state have been given to three smaller parties.

Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana will contest from two seats while Bahujan Vikas Aghadi and Yuva Swabhimani Paksha will be fighting from one seat each, according to Chavan's announcement.

Here's what Ashok Chavan announced

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Congress, NCP follow their 2014 seat-sharing formula

Congress and NCP decided to follow the seat-sharing formula they had adopted during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections after a series of discussions, said reports citing sources.

Though both the parties reportedly decided on their alliance in Maharashtra about a month ago, the seat-sharing deal wasn't finalized due to some differences over a few seats and talks with other smaller parties.

Share this timeline

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline