Opposition parties attack EC over WB campaign order


16 May 2019

'Modi Code of Misconduct': Opposition on EC's WB campaign ban

After the Election Commission (EC) cut short the campaigning period for the last phase of elections in West Bengal, opposition parties have come together to support CM Mamata Banerjee.

They accused the poll body of "submitting" to BJP for curtailing campaign time by a day after violence at Amit Shah's Kolkata roadshow. Congress questioned if EC was following "Modi Code of Misconduct".

Here's more.


BJP and TMC supporters clashed during Shah's roadshow

BJP and TMC supporters clashed during Shah's roadshow

During Shah's roadshow in Kolkata on Tuesday, clashes between BJP and TMC supporters broke out at Calcutta University and College Street.

Shah accused TMC of attacking his roadshow while the ruling TMC blamed BJP for the violence. BJP supporters allegedly set motorcycles on fire in Vidyasagar College and also vandalized the bust of the iconic 19th-century educationist and social reformer, Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar.

EC invokes Article 324 of Indian Constitution

The Election Commission has, for the first time, invoked Article 324 of the Indian Constitution to reduce the campaigning time. Article 324 allows the poll body to restrict poll campaigns by giving it the power of "superintendence, direction, and control of elections".

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Campaigning in WB will end on Thursday instead of Friday

The EC has curtailed the campaigning in West Bengal because of the clashes during which Vidyasagar's statue was vandalized.

Since the campaigning time has been reduced for the last phase, campaigning will end at 10 pm on Thursday night instead of 5 pm on Friday.

EC also ordered the removal of WB's Principal Secretary (Home) and Additional Director General of CID (Criminal Investigation Department).

EC's decision 'unethical, unconstitutional, undemocratic, biased': Banerjee

CM Banerjee, however, said the EC's move was "unethical, unconstitutional, undemocratic and biased." She said, "... (PM) Modi has two meetings in Bengal. When he finishes, the campaigning also ends... Instead of punishing Amit Shah, the Election Commission has given a gift to the BJP."

Planned targeting

PM Modi and Amit Shah targeting Mamata Banerjee: Mayawati

PM Modi and Amit Shah targeting Mamata Banerjee: Mayawati

BSP chief and former Uttar Pradesh CM, Mayawati, came out in strong support of Banerjee, accusing PM Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah of targeting Banerjee.

"It is clear that PM Modi, Amit Shah, and their leaders are targeting Mamata Banerjee, it's planned targeting. This is a very dangerous and unjust trend...one which doesn't suit the PM of the country," she said.

This is unfair; EC is acting under pressure: BSP chief

Echoing Banerjee's view, Mayawati said, "The Election Commission has banned campaigning...from 10 pm today just because the PM has two rallies in the day. If they had to ban, then why not from today morning? This is unfair and EC is acting under pressure."


'Model Code of Conduct or Modi Code of Misconduct?'

The Congress also, meanwhile, called the EC's decision "an unpardonable betrayal of the constitution," alleging that the election body had "become a pawn in the hands of the Modi-Shah duo."

Congress spokesperson Randeep Sujrewala said the EC's campaign order is aimed "solely at giving a free pass to the PM's rallies," questioning whether the Model Code of Conduct has become "Modi Code of Misconduct".

Share this timeline

Additional Director General

Amit Shah

Amit Shah Go Back

Article 324

BJP Chief Amit Shah


BSP Chief

BSP Chief Mayawati

Calcutta University

Calcutta University and College Street



CM Banerjee

CM Mamata Banerjee

College Street


Congress Party

Criminal Investigation Department


Echoing Banerjee

Election Code

Election Commission

Election Commission of India


Indian Constitution

Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar


Lok Sabha Elections

Mamata Banerjee

Model Code

Model Code Of Conduct 2019

Modi Code

Narendra Modi

PM Modi

PM Narendra Modi

Principal Secretary

Randeep Sujrewala


The Election Commission


Uttar Pradesh CM

Vidyasagar College


West Bengal

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee

Why not Modi

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline