Prakash Raj loses Bangalore Central against BJP candidate


23 May 2019

'Slap on my face': Prakash Raj on losing Bangalore Central

Actor and filmmaker Prakash Raj, who contested in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as an independent candidate in Karnataka, isn't particularly happy about his loss and he is not hiding it either.

The 54-year-old was contesting from the Bangalore Central constituency and managed to gain a meager 2.3% votes. Raj called the results a "solid slap on his face."

Here are more details.


'My resolve to fight for a secular India will continue'

'My resolve to fight for a secular India will continue'

Speaking about his defeat, the actor wrote on Twitter, "A solid slap on my face. As more abuse, troll (sic), and humiliation come my way, I will stand my ground."

"My resolve to fight for a secular India will continue. A tough journey ahead has just begun. Thank you everyone who were with me on this journey. Jai hind," he added.

Here is Raj's tweet on losing the elections

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Raj defeated by BJP's PC Mohan by huge margin

As an independent, Raj only managed to gain around 25,000 votes. Bharatiya Janata Party candidate PC Mohan won from the constituency, leading with over 5 lakh votes. Mohan was closely trailed by Congress candidate Rizwan Arshad.

Raj, a staunch critic of the Modi government, had filed his nomination for the seat on January 1 this year and had begun campaigning even before.


Bangalore Central constituency held by PC Mohan since 2009

Bangalore Central constituency held by PC Mohan since 2009

The Bangalore Central constituency held elections for the first time during the 2009 Lok Sabha elections as it was created out of North and South Bangalore Lok Sabha constituencies in 2008. Ever since, Mohan has held the seat in the Parliament for the ruling saffron party.

Bangalore Central went to the polls during Phase 2 on April 18, 2019.


BJP leading in 24 out of 28 seats in Karnataka

Apart from the Bangalore Central constituency, the BJP is leading in 24 out of the 28 seats in Karnataka. Congress was leading in two constituencies in the state, while the Janata Dal-Secular party is leading in just one.

BJP also surged towards a landslide win across the country, leading in 299 seats, and is headed towards a second term in power.

Share this timeline


Bangalore Central


Bharatiya Janata Party


Election 2019

Elections 2019

Elections Result

Elections Results


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline