DUSU election results 2019: ABVP wins 3 seats


13 Sep 2019

DUSU elections: ABVP bags 3 seats; NSUI takes Secretary's post

The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS)-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) swept the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections, winning three out of four seats on Friday.

Meanwhile, the rival Congress-affiliated National Students' Union of India (NSUI) bagged the position of Secretary in the central panel of DUSU.

ABVP's Ashwit Dahiya has been elected the President of DUSU.

Here are more details.


Dahiya won President's post by a stunning 19,000 votes

Reportedly, Dahiya bagged 29,685 votes in the DUSU elections, defeating NSUI's Chetna Tyagi by a huge margin of 19,000 votes for the President's post.

ABVP's Pradeep Tanwar secured 19,858 votes, winning the position of Vice President by a margin of 8,574 votes.

Additionally, Shivangi Karwal secured the Joint Secretary post for ABVP, winning by a margin of 2,914 votes.

NSUI's Ashish Lamba defeated ABVP's Yogit Rathee by 2,053 votes

The only seat that the ABVP lost was the post of Secretary. NSUI's Ashish Lamba secured 20,934 votes for the post, defeating ABVP's Yogit Rathee, who managed to bag just 18,881 votes. Meanwhile, Left-backed All India Students Association (AISA) candidate Vikas Kumar bagged 6,804 votes.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


ABVP thanks DU students "for reaffirming their faith" in them

Celebrating their victory, ABVP tweeted, "We have done it, yet again! We thank the students of Delhi University for reaffirming their faith in our leadership & choosing #ABVP4DUSU."

Meanwhile, NSUI's Akshay Lakra said, "ABVP fielded Yogi Rathee who was college president of Ramjas College when the violence took place in 2017. The students have given a clear mandate against violence."

We have done it, yet again!, ABVP congratulates its workers


DUSU polls this year witnessed a 39.9% voter turnout

DUSU polls this year witnessed a 39.9% voter turnout

Reportedly, the counting of votes started two hours later than the scheduled 8:30 am as the candidates showed up late.

The polls were shrouded by allegations of EVM malfunctioning.

Notably, this year's DUSU polls recorded a voter turnout of 39.9%, a drop from the 44.46% voter turnout observed during last year's polls.

Over 1.3 lakh students were eligible to cast their vote.

Meanwhile, AISA is happy about their increased vote share

Separately, expressing happiness over their increased vote share, an AISA functionary told PTI, "Our Joint Secretary candidate Chetna got over 10,000 votes. The party's vote share has improved since last year. We are happy about it."

Share this timeline


Akshit Dahiya

Delhi University

Delhi University 2019

Delhi University Students Union


Dusu Election 2019

Dusu Election Result 2019

Dusu Election Results

DUSU President


' Union

' Union of India



Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad

Akshay Lakra

All India Students Association

Ashish Lamba

Ashwit Dahiya

Chetna Tyagi

Congress-affiliated National Students

Delhi University Students


Joint Secretary

Left-backed All India Students Association

Pradeep Tanwar


Ramjas College

Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh


Shivangi Karwal

Vice President

Vikas Kumar

Yogi Rathee

Yogit Rathee

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline