Want to share with your friends too?

11 Mar 2017

Leads: Massive victory for BJP in UP, crosses half-way mark

UP Battleground 2017

Early counting (as of 10:56 am) shows a major victory for the BJP against the ruling Samajwadi Party and its Congress alliance.

Counting in 402 out of 403 seats put BJP well past the half-way mark with 302 seats; ahead of SP + Congress with 71 seats and BSP with 22.

It seems PM Narendra Modi's demonetization gamble and extensive campaigning paid off.

In context

UP Battleground 2017


Shivpal Yadav, Azam Khan and Pankaj Singh in lead

As of 10:56 am, Shivpal Singh Yadav, SP leader Mulayam Singh Yadav's brother, is leading in Jaswantnagar.

SP leader Azam Khan is leading in Rampur while his son Abdullah Azam Khan is trailing in Suar.

Mulayam's daughter-in-law Aparna Yadav is trailing behind BJP's Rita Bahuguna Joshi in Lucknow Cantt.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh's son Pankaj Singh is leading in Noida for the BJP.

11 Mar 2017

Why the UP elections matter?

UP is India's largest state, accounting for one-sixth of its total population. This time, over 14 crore voters were eligible to cast their ballots.

There's a common belief that the road to Delhi goes through UP. The UP elections' winner may determine who'll stay in the Prime Minister's 7 Race Course Road residence in 2019.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

BJP lead in UP a thumbs up to Modi's demonetization?

Early trends show a massive victory for the BJP in the UP election. The apparent result vindicates Prime Minister Narendra Modi's controversial move to demonetize Rs. 1,000 and Rs. 500 currency notes. BJP is all set to cross the 300 mark.

Scale of BJP's UP victory visible in sky-rocketing seat share

11 Mar 2017

Scale of BJP's UP victory visible in sky-rocketing seat share

As of 3:30 pm, trends reveal the BJP is winning/leading in 280/41 seats in the UP election, compared to winning 47 seats during the 2012 elections.

The SP + Congress alliance is winning/leading in 50/6 seats. Back in 2012, there was no alliance between the 2 parties.

The BSP is winning/leading in 7/14 seats in 2017 down from winning 80 in 2012.

"Victory for change"

RS Prasad says UP will flourish under BJP

Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said the BJP's win in UP is a "victory to change" against deteriorating law and order, and corruption perpetrated by the previous Akhilesh Yadav-led SP government.

Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore said the win is proof that the Narendra Modi-led BJP enjoys the same popularity even three years after the Lok Sabha elections.

UP Elections Results: BJP sweeps UP

11 Mar 2017

UP Elections Results: BJP sweeps UP

BJP scripted a landmark victory in UP. It won a total of 312 out of 384 seats it contested from. The vote-share for BJP stands at 39.7%

The SP-Congress alliance could only gather 54 seats with a combined vote-share of 28%.

BSP has 19 seats under its ambit, with a vote-share of 22.2%.

Who will become UP's CM? That question still remains.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline