Srinagar by-polls: Farooq Abdullah wins by over 9000 votes

15 Apr 2017 | By Gogona Saikia
Farooq Abdullah wins Srinagar by-polls

National Conference chief Farooq Abdullah has won the Srinagar by-polls with a margin of over 9000 votes, against Peoples Democratic Party's Nazir Ahmad Khan.

Counting began at 8 am at Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre; counting of migrant votes took place in Delhi, Jammu and Udhampur.

The April 9 by-polls recorded a dismal turnout of 7.13%, the lowest in Jammu and Kashmir's history.

In context: Farooq Abdullah wins Srinagar by-polls

15 Apr 2017Srinagar by-polls: Farooq Abdullah wins by over 9000 votes

DetailsFormer rival backed Abdullah during by-polls

Abdullah's only defeat in a 35-year political career came in the 2014 general elections, when he lost to PDP's Tariq Hameed Karra.

Karra, who later shifted to Congress, resigned from the Lower House of Parliament as well as his party over "atrocities" committed on civilians in the aftermath of Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani's killing.

He was backing Abdullah in the by-polls.

Love Politics news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Srinagar by-polls marred by violence

The Srinagar by-polls were marred by violent clashes between locals and security forces; at least eight people were killed and over 100 personnel injured. Repolling was conducted at 38 polling stations, when only 709 of 35,169 votes were cast (2% turnout).