Can BJP win Himachal Pradesh this time?


18 Jun 2017

Shimla municipal polls: BJP plants its flag in the hills

Following its victories in Mumbai and Delhi municipal polls, BJP has now emerged the single largest party in the Shimla Municipal Corporation (SMC) polls, winning 17 out of 34 seats and is inching closer to majority.

Considered a Congress stronghold, BJP's victory in Shimla is considered a premonition of its good chances in the upcoming state assembly polls.

Let's know more on BJP's win!


Shimla Municipal Corporation Polls, 2017

Shimla Municipal Corporation Polls, 2017

The polls conducted across 34 wards between 126 candidates recorded a 50.82% voter turnout

50% of the seats were reserved for women candidates out of which BJP, Congress and independents won 8, 6 and 2 seats respectively.

The post of Mayor has further been limited to a scheduled caste woman, to be elected from three identified wards.

Who won?

Those including BJP's possible mayoral candidate Kusum Sardet, Dr. Kimi Sood, Kiran Bawa, and Aarti Chauhan are new faces. While Shaily Sharma was the single winner from CPI (M), Rachna, Rakesh Kumar, Sanjay Parmar and Sharda Chauhan won as independent candidates.

Love Politics news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


What does this signify?

Shimla has been a Congress stronghold for about three decades. BJP victory has come through despite Congress's high-pitched campaign efforts with the direct involvement of CM Virbhadra Singh.

This also marks the first time that a BJP Mayor takes her seat in the hill city.

The results are considered an important indicator of voting trends in the upcoming Himachal Pradesh state assembly polls.

Share this timeline

Bharatiya Janata Party


Himachal Pradesh


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline