Nitish Kumar selected as Grand Alliance leader

15 Nov 2015 | By Kartikeya Jain

JDU leader Nitish Kumar was elected as the Grand Alliance leader and staked claim to form government by informing the Governor that he had the support of 178 MLAs.

He would take oath as Bihar CM for the fifth time on November 20.at the swearing-in ceremony at Patna's Gandhi Maidan rally.

Nitish's name was supported by RJD, JDU and Congress in a joint meeting.

In context: Aftermath of the Bihar Elections

8 Nov 2015BJP lost Bihar because of divisive agenda: Rahul

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi said that BJP's defeat in the Bihar polls was a result of its divisive agenda.

He said that it was time for PM Modi to tone down his arrogance or people would throw him out.

He termed the victory of Grand Alliance as a victory of love over hate.

He asked the BJP to drop the ideology of RSS.

8 Nov 2015Grand Alliance's win victory of democracy: Sinha

BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha said that grand alliance's victory was a victory of democracy.

Taking a swipe at the top party leaders, he said that the issue of Bihari vs. Bahari was settled.

He also congratulated Lalu Prasad Yadav and Nitish Kumar for their victory.

He added that introspection, better strategy, teamwork and coordination was the reason of Grand Alliance's win.

Love Politics news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

10 Nov 2015We were wrong about Mahagathbandhan: Jaitley

Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said that they were wrong in thinking that the Grand Alliance won't be able to get votes.

He also admitted that irresponsible statements made during elections harmed BJP.

However, he denied that Bihar elections results were a referendum on the policies of Centre.

He hoped that Bihar would support the GST bill since it was a consuming state.

14 Nov 2015We failed to convince people: Tiwari

Criticizing party's strategy in Bihar, BJP MP Manoj Tiwari said that grand alliance's strategy was definitely better.

He said that they failed to convince people to vote for the party at the centre and earn maximum profits.

He also said that the party was not able to present their election agenda before the people of Bihar failing to get enough votes.

15 Nov 2015Nitish Kumar selected as Grand Alliance leader

The parties of Mahagathbandhan

The Mahagathbandhan comprises three parties - Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD (80 MLAs), Nitish Kumar's JD-U (71) and Rahul Gandhi's Congress (27).
Love Politics news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

15 Nov 2015Will try to fulfill expectations: Nitish Kumar

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar said that his government would work with the motto of development of justice.

He said he would ensure rule of law in the state and that social harmony is maintained.

He also said that the name of the cabinet ministers would be decided at the appropriate time.

He added the names would be disclosed at the swearing-in ceremony.

20 Nov 2015Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM

Nitish Kumar has been sworn-in as Bihar's 35th CM on Friday. The cabinet strength is expected to be around 28, including both the sons of Lalu Prasad (RJD Chief)- Tej Pratap and Tejashwi.

In attendance at the ceremony were big-wigs including Rahul Gandi, Mamata Banerjee and NCP chief Sharad Pawar.

However, PM Modi owing to prior engagements, was unable to attend the event.