Science

WhatsApp will soon let you delete messages, sent by mistake

13 Sep 2017 | By Anish Chakraborty
WhatsApp leak shows new feature in final stages

We all have sent WhatsApp messages that we wish we could take back.

There were several reasons. Emotions clouded our judgment, auto-correct made fools out of us or that emoji was just not what you thought it was.

However, there is help at hand, as reports suggest that WhatsApp is in the final stages of testing out its "Delete For Everyone" feature.

Here's more.

In context: WhatsApp leak shows new feature in final stages

13 Sep 2017WhatsApp will soon let you delete messages, sent by mistake

BetaWhat is it all about?

This feature will allow users to delete a message, that they've sent before the damage is done. This feature was leaked by WABetaInfo.

They noticed that in WhatsApp beta, the recall server was fully functioning and deleting messages.

We still have to wait for WhatsApp to roll out the feature.

However, if it's being prepped up, the release date shouldn't be far behind.

It will notify others

Before it's too late

Android & iOSBefore it's too late

Both Android and iOS devices would get this feature. The trick will be to delete the message before the ticks turn blue because once that happens, there's no point of deleting it.

Moreover, this feature should be taken with a grain of salt, even if the receiving user won't know what was sent, they'll get a notification saying, "This message was deleted."

FeatureWhatsApp for Business

Meanwhile, more details on "WhatsApp for Business" were also unveiled by WABetaInfo. It appears that businesses will be able to set their working hours and if they're not available, users will be greeted with an away message.

Communication via automatic messages will be allowed. Facebook will be making use of it to send the password for the two-factor authentication of a user's account.