Google tracks the location of every individual who uses an Android device or any of its web products.
The information collected is used for enhancing the experience of Google services and offering recommendations like nearby places and traffic updates.
But as many don't like such tracking, the search giant has introduced a way for automatic deletion of location data.
Here's all about it.
Google is rolling out a feature that will prompt you to choose after how long you'd want your location data to be deleted.
The capability, which has just started hitting Android devices, will give you an option to choose a period of three or eighteen months.
Depending on what you choose, Google will store your data for that period and then delete it automatically.
As Google described, the feature will automatically delete the data stored in 'Location History' and 'Web and App Activity'.
This will remove every bit of location data collected from real-time device tracking and other ways such as certain Google sites, apps and services like Maps, Search, or Photos.
The new feature can save you from the pain of heading over to Google settings and deleting location data from time to time.
However, you should note that it doesn't stop Google's data collection practices, only limits them.
If you want Google to stop tracking you completely, you'd have to turn off 'Location History' and 'Web and App Activity' settings altogether for your account.
The new feature has started rolling out and will be available for Google users around the world in the coming weeks.
It's also worth noting that the company says 'Location History' and 'Web and App Activity' will be the first two elements that the option will be available for.
This means there's a chance that auto-deletion could be available for more of your data.
Want to share it with your friends too?
Love Science news?
Subscribe to stay updated.