Want to share with your friends too?

09 Sep 2017

Rafael Nadal vs Kevin Anderson, expect the expected?

Who will win the 2017 US Open?

Rafael Nadal stormed into the US Open final, downing Argentina's del Potro 4-6, 6-0, 6-3, 6-2, to set up his 23rd major final against Kevin Anderson.

32nd ranked Anderson was the last man standing from a wide open bottom half of the draw.

Will it be a familiar narrative where Rafa adds yet another slam to his collection or can Anderson do the impossible?

In context

Who will win the 2017 US Open?
Nadal vs Anderson Head-to-Head stats

No wins against Nadal

Nadal vs Anderson Head-to-Head stats

Kevin Anderson has faced Nadal four times in the past. He is 0-4 against the Spaniard, having lost all the matches at Round of 16 level.

They first met at the 2010 ATP Masters 1000, Canada, followed by 2015 Australian Open, 2015 ATP Masters 1000, Paris, and most recently at the clay court event, 2017 Barcelona Open.


Kevin Anderson profile

Having made his first Grand Slam final, Anderson is now the lowest-ranked men's finalist at the US Open since the computer rankings began in 1973.

He has won three ATP Singles tittles, and is the first South African player in the US Open final since Cliff Drysdale in 1965.

With strong serves and a powerful forehand, the 31-year-old has an aggressive style of play.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Can the bull be stopped?

09 Sep 2017

Can the bull be stopped?

With 15 Grand Slam titles to his name, of which two are at US Open, Nadal needs no introduction.

Set to play his third major final of this year, the Spaniard is soaring high and is the overwhelming favorite to clinch the title.

Odds are heavily stacked against Anderson who needs to do his best and some more to upset the World number 1.

Road to final

While Nadal beat Dusan Lajovic, Taro Daniel, Leonardo Mayer, Alexandr Dolgopolov, Andrey Rublev, and Juan Martin del Potro, to reach the final, Anderson had relatively comfortable draw where he defeated qualifier JC Aragone, Ernests Gulbis, Borna Coric, Paolo Lorenzi, Sam Querrey, and Pablo Carreno Busta.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline