Want to share with your friends too?

10 Sep 2017

BCCI announces squad for first three ODIs against Australia

Umesh, Shami return for first 3 ODIs

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), today, announced a 16-member squad for the first three ODIs of the five-match series against Australia, scheduled to begin on September 17.

Frontline pacers Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav have been included in the squad while left-arm spinner Axar Patel and legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal retained their place after good performance in Sri Lanka.

In context

Umesh, Shami return for first 3 ODIs
Ashwin, Jadeja rested; Thakur dropped

Players who missed out

Ashwin, Jadeja rested; Thakur dropped

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja were not named in the squad as BCCI decided that they should be rested.

Pacer Shardul Thakur was also left out after failing to impress in Sri Lanka, where he picked up just one wicket.

Meanwhile, Yuvraj Singh, who was 'rested' for the tour to Lanka, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant among others, were also not included in the team.

Kohli to lead, Rohit Sharma named vice-captain

Here's what the 16-member squad looks like: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

India A squad for four-day games against New Zealand A

Here's the India 'A' squad which was also announced today: Priyank Panchal, R Samarth, Sudip Chatterjee, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Karun Nair (Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Ankit Rajpoot

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline