Want to share with your friends too?

06 Oct 2017

The 2017-18 Ranji Trophy season to start from today

2017-18 Ranji Trophy- Everything you need to know!

The 2017-18 season of India's premier first-class cricket tournament, Ranji Trophy, is all set to begin from today.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has made some major changes in the tournament's format, making it easier for the players to play in it.

Let us have a look at this season's complete details.

In context

2017-18 Ranji Trophy- Everything you need to know!
28 teams to participate in four different groups

Team division

28 teams to participate in four different groups

The 2017-18 edition of the tournament will see 28 teams, divided into four groups of seven, which will lead to every team playing six group matches, as opposed to nine matches in previous seasons.

While this is a respite for players, it will give them less opportunities to showcase their talent.

The top two teams from each group will proceed to the knock-out stages.

No neutral venues at Group level

The BCCI has decided to dump the neutral venue concept, with the teams now playing their group matches at home and away venues. This way, any team will play three matches at home and three away. However, neutral venues will be used for knockout games.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Major Transfers

Uthappa ends 15-year association with Karnataka

After playing for Karnataka for 15-years, Robin Uthappa will now be a part of Saurashtra cricket team, led by Cheteshwar Pujara.

Piyush Chawla has moved from Uttar Pradesh's team to defending champions Gujarat, while Ambati Rayudu is set to represent his home side of Hyderabad after a stint with Baroda.

Karn Sharma ended his decade-long association with Railways to represent Vidarbha in upcoming season.

Kerala gets a new coach

Former Australian and Sri Lankan cricket coach Dav Whatmore has joined the Kerala cricket team as the head coach, replacing Tinu Yohannan. While the contract has been signed for only six months, it is likely that Whatmore will oversee the team for entire 217-18 season.

Points System

06 Oct 2017

Points System

A team will get six points after winning a match. One bonus point will be given in case the team wins by an innings or 10 wickets.

If the match is drawn, three points will be given to the team earning first innings lead, and one point to the team conceding the lead.

One point will be given in the case of no result.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline