Ind-SL 3rd Test: Probable Playing XI


01 Dec 2017

3rd Test India vs SL-Predicted Playing XI lineup

Having decimated Sri Lanka in the 2nd Test in Nagpur to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series, India are overwhelming favorites going into the 3rd Test at Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla.

As the men in blue set out to play their last Test of the season before the overseas tours begin, let's look at how the teams could line up tomorrow.

Spoilt for choice

Plenty of opening options

Plenty of opening options

Indian side faces a dilemma of picking their opening combination with the likes of Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, and in-form Murali Vijay, available for the 3rd Test.

As with the 2nd Test the selection will likely have a long batting line up.

Probable XI- Vijay, Dhawan, Pujara, Kohli, Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ashwin, Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

SL playing XI

Herath to miss the 3rd Test

Rangana Herath has been ruled out of the final Test for the visitors due to back pain and in his place young leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay could be brought in.

Sri Lanka's probable XI - Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Matthews, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage, Dasun Shanaka.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me

Indian team at the cusp of successive series win milestone

If Team India clinches the Test series against Sri Lanka, they would equal the world record for nine consecutive series wins, set by Australia (2005-2008).


Records in reach for Indian cricketers

Records in reach for Indian cricketers

While Indian side will fully look to capitalize on a sub-par Lankan attack. In the process, the men in blue could achieve some amazing records.

Ashwin, for instance, needs 3 more wickets to become leading wicket-taker in 2017 to overtake Kagiso Rabada.

Cheteshwar Pujara (1068) needs 30 runs to become the leading run scorer of 2017.

Share this timeline

Cheteshwar Pujara

Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium

India Vs Sri Lanka Cricket

Indian Cricket Team

Ravichandran Ashwin

Test Cricket

Virat Kohli

Sri Lankan Cricket Team

Angelo Matthews

Dasun Shanaka

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline