Want to share with your friends too?

04 Dec 2017

India team for South Africa tour announced

India tour of South Africa 2018

BCCI has announced the Indian Test squad that will tour South Africa for a three-match Test series beginning in Jan 2018.

This includes - Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Rahul, Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, Saha (wicket-keeper), Ashwin, Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Pandya, Bhuvneshwar, Shami, Ishant, Umesh and Bumrah.

Jasprit Bumrah has received his maiden Test call-up after amazing performance in limited-over cricket.

In context

India tour of South Africa 2018
India's long away season to kick off with South Africa

Overseas tour

India's long away season to kick off with South Africa

Inching closer to the end of a great home season, India will have a long and arduous overseas season beginning January 2018.

The first of the away tours will start in South Africa, which is scheduled to be played from 5th January to 24th February, 2018.

Against the Proteas, India will play 3 Tests, 6 ODIs, and 3 T20Is.

Poor Test record

India's record against South Africa in South Africa

Team India has played 6 Test series against South Africa in South Africa, without winning any of the series - Lost 5, Drawn 1. The last one was the 2013/14 series which India lost 1-0.

Of the 17 Test matches India played on South African soil against the hosts, India have managed to win twice, drawing 7 times.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

No win in the ODI series too

India haven't won an ODI series against South Africa on their turf losing all the four series they contested. The ODI matches win loss record in bilateral series is 4-14. The last series (2013/14) was lost by a margin of 2-0.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline