Want to share with your friends too?

08 Dec 2017

Ronaldo wins record equalling 5th Ballon d'Or

All about 62nd Ballon d'Or

It's official. Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo is the best footballer on the planet.

The 32-year-old claimed his record-equalling 5th Ballon d'Or at a glitzy ceremony in the French capital.

The Portuguese sharpshooter is now on level with long standing rival Argentine forward Lionel Messi, who last claimed his fifth title in 2015.

Ronaldo also won FIFA men's player of the year in October.

In context

All about 62nd Ballon d'Or
The greatest of all time?

Messi or Ronaldo

The greatest of all time?

For the first time in history, the award has been in the hands of two players for a decade.

Ronaldo, who claimed the award last year, also took home football's top honour in 2014, 2013.

He first won the award in 2008 but then lost out it for the next four years to Lionel Messi. The Argentine also claimed the golden ball in 2015.

Stiff competition

Messi and Ronaldo go neck to neck

So far this year, Lionel Messi has 52 goals in 61 matches, that is 3 more than what Cristiano Ronaldo managed with 49 in 56 games.

However, Ronaldo's heroics helped Real Madrid win the Champions League and the La Liga last year, whereas, the only piece of silverware Messi managed to lift was the Copa del Rey.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Ronaldo and Messi among all time greats

Dutch icons Johan Cruff, Marco van Basten and French great Michel Platini are the only other footballers beside Ronaldo and Messi, to have claimed football's greatest honour at least thrice.

What is the Ballon d'Or?

Biggest honour

What is the Ballon d'Or?

The Ballon d'Or or the golden ball is football's top individual honour presented to the best player of the year.

Thirty footballers are nominated each year by French Football magazine and a group of 173 journalist from around the world vote for the winner.

This is the 62nd edition of the Ballon d'Or.

07 Dec 2017

Ballon d'Or dominated by La Liga stars

Out of the 30 member shortlist for the top prize, Real Madrid had a staggering 7 players with the likes of Karim Benzema, Marcelo, Isco, Luka Modric, Sergio Ramos and Toni Kroos nominated alongside their mercurial front-man Ronaldo.

As for their rivals Barcelona, Luis Suarez was the only other player besides Lionel Messi.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline